top of page
Hi There

Welcome to CRAVING SOUL. I’m thrilled you’re here, because I have so much I want to share with you. I’m here to make a life out of what I love, and what I love is cooking. I am passionate about Cooking and baking, and I truly believe that passion is relayed back to my readers through the my recipes that I post. Explore my site, and all that I have to offer; perhaps CRAVING SOUL will ignite your own passions too.

  • Grey Instagram Icon

Food Quotes

Food Is

Essential

To life

Therefor

Make It Good

APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
Recent Posts

Maharashtrian Masala Bhaat

Maharashtrian Masala Bhaat

Masala Bhaat is very popular Maharashtrian delicacy. A Maharashtrian wedding is never complete without masala Bhaat. I remember in my childhood we would all be sitting in a row for a food to be serve for us and I am always waiting for masala bhaat and mattha or chaas (salted lassi). Tindora and green peas are most important vegetable in this rice and eggplant take this dish to another level. The spice used in masala bhaat is special blend called goda masala, which gives this rice unique aroma and flavor. This dish is perfect for family gathering party or special Indian festival treat.

Ingredients:

1 cup rice

2 tbsp Ghee/Oil

1 medium size onion chopped

½ cup Tindora/ Coccinia grandis

2-3 medium eggplant cut into pieces

½ cup green peas

2 bay leaves

1 tsp cumin seeds

2-4 cloves

Pinch of asafetida

5-6 cloves garlic

1 inch ginger

1 tsp red chili powder

1 tsp termertic powder

2 tsp Maharashtrian Goda masala/ Kala masala

½ tsp garam masala

2-3 green chilies

handful fresh coriander leaves

¼ cup fresh coconut + garnishing

2-cup hot water

Salt to taste

Procedure:

  1. Crush ginger, garlic and green chilies in mortar and pestle.

  2. Soak rice in water for 20-30 minutes.

  3. In a pan heat up ghee/oil, add bay leaves, cloves, cumin seeds and sauté for few seconds. Add onions, crushed ginger-garlic-chili and few chopped coriander leaves and sauté till onion gets translucent.

  4. Add turmeric powder, Tindora and eggplant mix well and cook for 2-3 minutes on medium flame or until eggplant half cook. (Do not add water to cook vegetables, let it cook on steam).

  5. Add green peas, red chili powder, garam masala powder, Goda masala, coconut and mix well, sauté for a minute.

  6. Add rice and salt and mix everything very well. Do not over mix otherwise rice may get broken.

  7. Add hot water to rice and bring it to boil. Once it start to boil lower the flame and simmer for 10 minutes.

  8. Serve rice in serving plate and garnish with fresh coconut and coriander leaves.


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page