top of page
Hi There

Welcome to CRAVING SOUL. I’m thrilled you’re here, because I have so much I want to share with you. I’m here to make a life out of what I love, and what I love is cooking. I am passionate about Cooking and baking, and I truly believe that passion is relayed back to my readers through the my recipes that I post. Explore my site, and all that I have to offer; perhaps CRAVING SOUL will ignite your own passions too.

  • Grey Instagram Icon

Food Quotes

Food Is

Essential

To life

Therefor

Make It Good

APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
Recent Posts

Dal Makhani (Punjabi style)

Dal Makhani (Punjabi style)

Dal Makhani or Maa ki dal is most popular Punjabi recipe. It mostly prepared on special events such as party, weddings or family get together.

Dal refers to lentils and makhan is butter so Dal Makhani latterly translates to lentils cooked with butter. Ghee or butter is very essential part of Punjabi cooking so that in this recipe use of ghee is generously so that it taste amazing.

Traditionally in Punjabi cuisine Dal Makhani has been prepared by cooking lentils on charcoal fire for several hours. One of my friend from Punjab, she still cook this dal from morning to evening. This slow cooking for long time infused more flavors and makes thick, creamy and buttery dal. That is one of the reason it also called as Dal Maharani.

Dal Makhani can be served with plain basmati rice, naan, or tandoori roti.

1 cup black gram (Urad dal)

¼ cup split Bengal gram (chana dal)

2 tbsp ghee(butter)

1 tsp cumin seeds

2 chopped medium onion

2 tbsp ginger garlic paste

3 medium tomato purée

2 green chilies chopped

½ tsp chilli powder

1 tsp coriander powder

1 tsp cumin powder

½ tsp kasuri methi

salt as per taste

¼ cup fresh cream

handful coriander leaves

Procedure:

  1. Socked both dals overnight or at least for 2 hours.

  2. In a pressure cooker combine both dals with salt and water, make first whistle on high flame and then lower the flame and make 2-3 more whistles.

  3. In a pan heat up ghee, add cumin seeds and onion, cook onion till it turns golden brown.

  4. Add ginger garlic paste and sauté for a minute; add tomato puree, red chili powder and satee very well for 5 minutes or until tomato start to leave oil.

  5. Add cooked dal to tadka and stir everything very well. Cook for 5 minutes.

  6. Add coriander powder, cumin powder and salt. Cook for next 15-20 minutes, stir in between. Add hot water if it become too thick. (For more amazing taste you can cook this dal for 1-2 hours on slow flame).

  7. For finishing add fresh cream and crushed kasuri methi and mix well.

  8. Serve dal in serving bowl and garnish with cream and chopped coriander leaves.


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page