top of page
Hi There

Welcome to CRAVING SOUL. I’m thrilled you’re here, because I have so much I want to share with you. I’m here to make a life out of what I love, and what I love is cooking. I am passionate about Cooking and baking, and I truly believe that passion is relayed back to my readers through the my recipes that I post. Explore my site, and all that I have to offer; perhaps CRAVING SOUL will ignite your own passions too.

  • Grey Instagram Icon

Food Quotes

Food Is

Essential

To life

Therefor

Make It Good

APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
Recent Posts

Classic Coq Au Vin

Coq Au Vin

Coq Au Vin is classic French dish of chicken cooked in red wine and bacon. I refer several sources to make this one as this is my very first attempt to make something very authentic French dish and of course as always my husband inspired me to try something out of my comfort zone. Coq Au Vin is perfect for cool autumn and winter evening.

You’ll love this dish if you are big fan of red wine and bacon, this dish make you feel like you are eating something extra special, whether you make it for yourself or table full of friends.

Ingredients:

8 oz sliced bacon

6 medium size chicken thigh with bone

2 shallots, sliced

½ large yellow onion, diced

10 large button mushrooms

2 tsp butter

2 tsp all purpose flour

1 cup chicken broth

1 ½ cup red wine

6 thyme springs

Kosher salt as per taste

1 tsp black pepper

Procedure:

  1. Pre heat oven at 375 degree Fahrenheit.

  2. clean chicken and put the skin on it. Season it with kosher salt and pepper and keep it to room temperature.

  3. On a skillet put sliced bacon and keep it on medium flame. Cook bacon until it become brown and crisp.

  4. Keeping fats(oil) in skillet remove crispy bacon.

  5. Raise the heat to high and add chicken, seared the chicken on both the side by cooking it for 2-4 minutes and it turns brown.

  6. Remove chicken pieces and discard 1 tbsp fats(oil) from skillet.

  7. Lower the heat to medium-high and add sliced shallots, diced onion and mushrooms in a skillet.

  8. Sprinkle some salt on vegetables and cook it for 2-3 minutes till it turn light brown in color.

  9. Add butter in a skillet and sauté for some time, add flour and cook it for 1 minute to remove it rawness (if you want thicker sauce you can add 1 more tsp flour).

  10. Deglazed pan by adding red wine into the skillet, add thyme springs and cook it for 3-5 minutes, simmer until wine is about 1/3 reduced.

  11. Pour chicken broth into wine mixture and set chicken thighs into skillet, bring everything to a simmer.

  12. Put the skillet in pre heated oven and roast chicken for about an 30 minutes to 1 hour on until chicken tenders, in between spoon pan stock over chicken to prevent chicken from drying

  13. Once chicken cook well remove skillet from oven, place chicken pieces in serving pan.

  14. Place skillet on flame again and reduce the stock for 3-5 minutes. Remove some excess fats from stock with spoon.

  15. Seasoned with salt and pepper if needed, discard thyme springs.

  16. Pour sauce over the chicken and served hot with bread or mashed potatoes.


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page