top of page
Hi There

Welcome to CRAVING SOUL. I’m thrilled you’re here, because I have so much I want to share with you. I’m here to make a life out of what I love, and what I love is cooking. I am passionate about Cooking and baking, and I truly believe that passion is relayed back to my readers through the my recipes that I post. Explore my site, and all that I have to offer; perhaps CRAVING SOUL will ignite your own passions too.

  • Grey Instagram Icon

Food Quotes

Food Is

Essential

To life

Therefor

Make It Good

APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
Recent Posts

Nepali Chicken Momos (Steamed dumplings)

Nepali Chicken Momos (Steamed dumplings)

Momo is one of the most popular dishes, which can be eaten as an entrée or main dish. Momos are bite size dumplings filled with meat or vegetables and served with dipping sauce. Momos is type of south Asian dumplings, mostly find in Tibet, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim state and Darjeeling district of India.

I have visited Nepal two times in my life, but frankly speaking I didn’t get opportunity to try authentic Nepali momo there. I first try momo in Mumbai as a street food and instantly fall in love with this amazing flavorful and healthy dish. I find momos very health as it contains mostly protein like meat, veggies and herbs there is no oil needed or frying and no added calories. Even though some people like fried momos which I am not very fan of.

I can definitely say it is one of the simple, delicious, one-meal dish of Nepal, you can’t miss to try at least once. !!!

Ingredients:

For dough/pastry

1 cup all purpose flour

salt

175ml water approximately

For filling

2 cup cup minced meat of your choice (chicken, lamb, pork etc.)

1 cup onion

1 1/2 tbsp ginger chopped

3 tbsp carrots, grated (optional)

3 tbsp coriander fresh, chopped

3 tbsp spring onions greens

1 tbsp soy sauce

½ tsp black pepper

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 tbsp olive oil

Salt to taste

Procedure:

Pastry dough:

  1. Sift the flour into bowl with salt, add water slowly and make simple dough

  2. Knead for 3-5 minutes to form bit hard dough and allow resting for few minutes.

  1. Chopped onion, ginger, carrots, fresh coriander and spring onions and combine together with meat.

  2. Add soy sauce, black pepper, cumin seeds, salt and oil and mix very well.

  3. Add 1-2 tbsp boiled water if filling is dry.

  1. Make small balls of dough and roll out 3mm thickness and 7mm circles.

  2. Place 1 tbsp filling in center of each momo and give them shape of momos

  3. Steam this momos in steamer for 10-12 minutes.

  4. Serve hot momos with red chili chutney.

Tips:

You can use store brought ready-made momo pastry sheets. Also you follow same recipe for veg moms by replacing meat with choice of vegetable like cabbage

Red chili chutney or sauce for momo

Ingredients:

2 medium tomatoes

8 dry chills soaked, overnight

Garlic 5-10

Ginger 1” pieces

Salt as per taste

Cumin ¼ tsp

Procedure:

Combine all ingredients in a mixer grinder with little water and make paste of it and serve with hot momos


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page