top of page
Hi There

Welcome to CRAVING SOUL. I’m thrilled you’re here, because I have so much I want to share with you. I’m here to make a life out of what I love, and what I love is cooking. I am passionate about Cooking and baking, and I truly believe that passion is relayed back to my readers through the my recipes that I post. Explore my site, and all that I have to offer; perhaps CRAVING SOUL will ignite your own passions too.

  • Grey Instagram Icon

Food Quotes

Food Is

Essential

To life

Therefor

Make It Good

APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
Recent Posts

Chicken Yakhni Pulao

Chicken Yakhni Pulao

Yakhni Pulao is traditional rice preparation in Muslim family. It mainly prepared with Mutton and rice cooked with spices in mutton stock. Yakhni means stock and this stock is essential part of this Pulao which makes it more flavorful and delicious.

In this dish I used Chicken just to simplify recipe for people who are new to this recipe and taste. Fennel powder is one of the unique spice used in this preparation which is totally essential part in this recipe. I am always fan of more flavors than anything else so this rice Pulao is always on my favorite recipe list.

Ingredients:

½ kg Chicken on bone

1 ½ cup basmati rice

1 medium onion

1-2 tsp ginger-garlic paste

2 tbsp Funnel powder

1 tsp garam masala

4 cloves

3 black pepper

2 inch cinnamon stick

1 bay leaf

¼ tsp green cardoman

4 tbsp ghee

1 ½ tsp shahi jeera/ cumin seeds

3 green chilies

3 cup chicken stock (optional)

yogurt 1 cup

fried onions for garnish

salt to taste

Procedure:

  1. Soaked rice in water for 20-25 min.

  2. Marinate the chicken with ginger-garlic paste, fennel powder, garam masala, salt and yogurt for 30 min.

  3. Heat ghee in a pan adds shahi jeera/cumin seeds, black pepper, cloves, cinnamon, bay leaf sauté for few minutes. Add onions and green chilies sauté till onion turn golden brown.

  4. Remove pan from flame and add marinate the chicken, stir it and put it again on medium-high flame sauté for 2-3 minutes. Cover and cook for more 2-3 minutes on medium flame.

  5. Add chicken stock and bring it to boil. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes or until chicken cooks 60-70%.

  6. Add drained rice and mix well. When mixer comes to boil reduce heat and cook till both rice and chicken cook completely.

  7. Serve hot with raita.

Tip - To prevent yogurt from curdling/spliting always remove pan from heat and then add yogurt.


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page