top of page
Hi There

Welcome to CRAVING SOUL. I’m thrilled you’re here, because I have so much I want to share with you. I’m here to make a life out of what I love, and what I love is cooking. I am passionate about Cooking and baking, and I truly believe that passion is relayed back to my readers through the my recipes that I post. Explore my site, and all that I have to offer; perhaps CRAVING SOUL will ignite your own passions too.

  • Grey Instagram Icon

Food Quotes

Food Is

Essential

To life

Therefor

Make It Good

APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
Recent Posts

Indo-Chinese Chilly Chicken Dry

Indo-Chinese Chilly Chicken Dry

This is again one of the mouth-watering Indo-Chinese appetizer dishes. Chilly chicken is very popular in all Indian Chinese restaurants. In India it also available in vegetarian option using Paneer, mushrooms, potato or tofu.

This is my version of chili chicken, so it is bit different than regular chili chicken recipes you will find. I haven’t use egg in a batter but I fried chicken twice to make it crispier. You can make more gravy if you like, but with less gravy it will keep crispy for long time.

In this recipe I brined chicken breast pieces in cold water with sugar, salt and vinegar this makes chicken juicier after frying otherwise most of time chicken become dry. I find this step time consuming but very essential for perfect juicy and crispy chicken ever !!!

It best served hot!!!!

Ingredients:

300 gm. boneless chicken

½ cup cold water

½ tsp. vinegar

½ tsp. sugar

½ tsp. salt

1 tbsp. ginger garlic paste

½ tsp. black pepper

½ tsp. chilly paste/sauce

For Chicken Batter:

½ cup all purpose flour1/4 cup cornstarch

2 tbsp. oil

1/8 tsp. baking powder

For sauce:

1 tbsp. oil

1 tbsp. chopped garlic

1 tbsp. chopped ginger

5-6 spring onions

1 medium bell pepper

1 small onion

2 tsp. chilly garlic sauce/ sriracha

2 tsp. soy sauce

1/3 tsp. salt

Pinch of sugar

1 tsp. black pepper

Procedure :

Brine the chicken:

  1. Clean chicken very well and cut into 1 inch cube size pieces.

  2. In a bowl take cold water and add chicken, vinegar, salt and sugar.

  3. Soak chicken in water for 1.5 to 2 hour.

Tip:

Brining very necessary to keep the chicken juicy.

Frying chicken

  1. After 2 hours add ginger garlic paste, black paper and oil to the chicken and keep aside for 15 more minutes.

  2. Add all purpose flour, cornstarch and baking powder to marinated chicken and mix very well.

  3. Heat the oil in pan on medium high and fry battered chicken.

  4. Fry chicken until it half cook (about 3-4 min on both sides) and take out

  5. Rest this fried chicken at least for 15 min. This process is necessary to hold down the juices in the chicken.

  6. After 15 min heat the oil on medium high and fry chicken again until it turn golden brown.

Tip:

Resting chicken and frying twice will make chicken more crunchy and juicy.

Sauce:

  1. In a wok heat the oil on high flame, add chopped ginger, garlic and sautéed for 1 min .

  2. Add spring onions, bell pepper and onion cubes and stir for 2-3 min.

  3. Add chill sauce, soy sauce, black pepper, salt and sugar, stir quickly and cook for 1-2 min.

  4. Remove pan from heat, let some steam pass and add fried chicken put it on heat and sautéed quickly.

  5. Serve chicken in dish and garnish with spring onion greens.


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page